位于巴吉的巴哈欧拉的安息地。对巴哈伊来说,这里是地球上最神圣的地方。

巴哈欧拉——神圣教育者

综观历史, 各大宗教是人类品格教化的主要推动力量 ,它们在其信徒身上激发出自律、虔诚和勇气。宗教的许多道德原则都被转化为行为准则和模式,进而起到增进人类关系和促进人类集体生活的作用。

每当一位 上帝的显示者 出现,就会带来更完整的启示,推动人类进入其觉悟和进步的下一阶段。这时,一个在外观上普普通通的人会受命成为上帝的喉舌。譬如摩西站在燃烧的荆棘前,佛陀在菩提树下悟道,圣灵以信鸽的形式降临于耶稣,或者加百列大天使向穆罕默德现身。

19世纪中叶,上帝通过巴哈欧拉——意为“上帝之荣耀”——带给人类一个新的天启。在四十年里,祂启示了成千上万的经文、书信和书籍。在 圣作 中,祂勾画了一个全球文明的发展框架,这一文明兼顾人类生活的灵性和物质层面。

我从未渴望过世俗的权势。我唯一的目的从来都是遵照上帝的命谕,将祂的新启示带给人类......

—— 巴哈欧拉

巴哈欧拉因为将上帝的最新启示带给人类而遭受了四十年的监禁、折磨和流放。今天,祂的生平与使命越来越为世人所知。 数百万人在学习将祂的教义应用于他们的个人和集体生活,以促进世界的改善。


巴哈欧拉的教义……现在为我们呈现了最高级和最纯粹形式的宗教教义……

—— 俄国作家列夫•托尔斯泰伯爵

注释:

The resting place of Bahá’u’lláh’s earthly remains is at Bahjí, the holiest place on earth for Bahá’ís.

Bahá’u’lláh — The Divine Educator

Throughout history, the great religions have provided the primary driving force behind the civilizing of human character, eliciting self-discipline, devotion and heroism from their followers. Many of religion’s moral principles have been translated into structures and patterns of conduct which have served to elevate human relationships and advance humanity’s collective life.

Every time a Manifestation of God appears, a fuller measure of inspiration for the next stage in the awakening and progress of humanity is released into the world. A human being—ordinary in every outward respect—is called to be a mouthpiece for God. One may call to mind Moses standing before the Burning Bush, the Buddha receiving enlightenment under the Bodhi tree, the Holy Spirit descending upon Jesus in the form of a dove, or the archangel Gabriel appearing to Muhammad.

In the middle of the 19th century, God summoned Bahá’u’lláh—meaning the “Glory of God”—to deliver a new Revelation to humanity. For four decades thousands of verses, letters and books flowed from His pen. In His Writings, He outlined a framework for the development of a global civilization which takes into account both the spiritual and material dimensions of human life.

I have never aspired after worldly leadership. My sole purpose hath been to hand down unto men that which I was bidden to deliver by God…

—Bahá’u’lláh

Bahá’u’lláh suffered 40 years of imprisonment, torture and exile for bringing God’s latest message to humanity. Today, His life and mission are becoming increasingly well-known across the planet. Millions of people are learning to apply His teachings to their individual and collective lives for the betterment of the world.


Bahá’u’lláh’s teachings…now present us with the highest and purest form of religious teaching...

—Count Leo Tolstoy, Russian author


Exploring this topic

This collection of articles explores the life and message of Bahá’u’lláh, the growth of the Bahá’í community during His lifetime, and selections from His Writings.

Note: