阿博都-巴哈,巴哈欧拉逝世后巴哈伊信仰的领袖

阿博都-巴哈——完美典范

在20世纪初,阿博都-巴哈——巴哈欧拉的长子——成为巴哈伊信仰的主要倡导者,以社会正义之卫士和世界和平的大使而为人所知。

阿博都-巴哈(1844-1921)

巴哈欧拉将团结视为自己教义的一项基本原则,为了维护这一原则,祂采取了必要的保护措施来确保祂的宗教永远不会像其他宗教那样,在其创立者离世后就分裂成不同教派。祂在 圣作 中命谕全体信徒转向长子阿博都-巴哈,奉之为巴哈伊著作的权威诠释者、巴哈伊信仰精神和教义的完美典范。

巴哈欧拉去世后,阿博都-巴哈的非凡品性、学识和对人类的服务,成为巴哈欧拉教义在现实中的生动展现,给正在全世界迅速扩展的巴哈伊社团带来极大的声望。

在司职期,阿博都-巴哈致力于推进先父的信仰,宣扬和平与团结之理想。祂鼓励成立巴哈伊地方机构,并为早期的教育、社会和经济活动提供指引。在摆脱囚禁后,祂踏上了一系列旅程,所到之处包括埃及、欧洲和北美。终其一生,用简明而绝妙的方式,向各阶层的人呈现巴哈欧拉为人类社会的灵性和社会复兴开具的处方。


凡是与祂会晤之人,都会发现祂博学多闻,谈吐迷人,能够抓住人们的心与灵,祂献身于人类一体的信念……

—— 1910年10月16号埃及报纸《穆艾亚德》

注释:

‘Abdu’l-Bahá, the Head of the Bahá’í Faith after the passing of Bahá’u’lláh.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá — The Perfect Exemplar

In the early years of the 20th century, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá—the eldest Son of Bahá’u’lláh—was the Bahá’í Faith’s leading exponent, renowned as a champion of social justice and an ambassador for international peace.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá (1844-1921)

Upholding unity as the fundamental principle of His teachings, Bahá’u’lláh established the necessary safeguard to ensure that His religion would never suffer the same fate as others that split into sects after the deaths of their Founders. In His Writings, He instructed all to turn to His eldest Son, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, not only as the authorized interpreter of the Bahá’í Writings but also as the perfect exemplar of the Faith’s spirit and teachings.

Following Bahá’u’lláh’s passing, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá’s extraordinary qualities of character, His knowledge and His service to humanity offered a vivid demonstration of Bahá’u’lláh’s teachings in action, and brought great prestige to the rapidly expanding community throughout the world.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá devoted His ministry to furthering His Father’s Faith and to promoting the ideals of peace and unity. He encouraged the establishment of local Bahá’í institutions, and guided nascent educational, social and economic initiatives. After His release from a lifetime of imprisonment, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá set out on a series of journeys which took Him to Egypt, Europe and North America. Throughout His life, He presented with brilliant simplicity, to high and low alike, Bahá’u’lláh’s prescription for the spiritual and social renewal of society.


Whosoever has consorted with Him has seen in Him a man exceedingly well-informed, Whose speech is captivating, Who attracts minds and souls, Who is dedicated to belief in the oneness of mankind…

Al-Mu’ayyad newspaper, Egypt, 16 October 1910


Exploring this topic

This collection of articles explores the life and work of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, the development of the Bahá’í community during His lifetime, and His historic travels to the West. There is also a selection of His major Writings, articles and commentaries.

Note: