Abdu'l-Bahá, le dirigeant de la foi bahá’íe après le décès de Bahá’u’lláh.

'Abdu’l-Bahá – l’exemple parfait

Au début du 20e siècle, 'Abdu’l-Bahá, le fils aîné de Bahá’u’lláh, était la figure centrale de la foi bahá’íe, célèbre pour sa défense de la justice sociale et comme ambassadeur de la paix internationale.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá (1844-1921)

Choisissant l’unité comme principe fondamental de ses enseignements, Bahá’u’lláh a veillé à ce que sa religion ne puisse jamais subir le même sort que les précédentes qui se divisèrent après le décès de leur fondateur. Dans ses Écrits , il a demandé à tous les croyants de se tourner vers 'Abdu’l-Bahá, son fils aîné, non seulement en tant qu’interprète des Écrits bahá’ís mais aussi comme l’exemple parfait de l’esprit de sa Foi et de ses enseignements.

À la suite du décès de Bahá’u’lláh, les qualités de caractère extraordinaires de 'Abdu’l-Bahá, son savoir et son engagement philanthrope, ont offert une démonstration marquante des enseignements de Bahá’u’lláh et ont apporté un grand prestige à une communauté en pleine expansion dans le monde entier.

'Abdu’l-Bahá a consacré sa vie à promouvoir la foi de son père et ses idées de paix et d’unité. Il a encouragé l’établissement d’institutions bahá’íes locales et a conseillé des initiatives naissantes dans les domaines sociaux, éducatifs et économiques. Après sa libération de toute une vie d’emprisonnement, 'Abdu’l-Bahá a commencé une série de voyages qui le menèrent en Égypte, en Europe et en Amérique du Nord. Toute sa vie, il a présenté avec une remarquable simplicité, aux grands de ce monde comme aux plus modestes, les enseignements de Bahá’u’lláh pour un renouveau social et spirituel de la société.


Quiconque l’a rencontré a vu en lui un homme extrêmement bien informé, dont le discours captivant attire les esprits et les âmes, et qui s’est dévoué à la croyance en l’unité de l’humanité…

— Journal Al-Mu’ayyad, Égypte, 16 octobre 1910

:

‘Abdu’l-Bahá, the Head of the Bahá’í Faith after the passing of Bahá’u’lláh.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá — The Perfect Exemplar

In the early years of the 20th century, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá—the eldest Son of Bahá’u’lláh—was the Bahá’í Faith’s leading exponent, renowned as a champion of social justice and an ambassador for international peace.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá (1844-1921)

Upholding unity as the fundamental principle of His teachings, Bahá’u’lláh established the necessary safeguard to ensure that His religion would never suffer the same fate as others that split into sects after the deaths of their Founders. In His Writings, He instructed all to turn to His eldest Son, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, not only as the authorized interpreter of the Bahá’í Writings but also as the perfect exemplar of the Faith’s spirit and teachings.

Following Bahá’u’lláh’s passing, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá’s extraordinary qualities of character, His knowledge and His service to humanity offered a vivid demonstration of Bahá’u’lláh’s teachings in action, and brought great prestige to the rapidly expanding community throughout the world.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá devoted His ministry to furthering His Father’s Faith and to promoting the ideals of peace and unity. He encouraged the establishment of local Bahá’í institutions, and guided nascent educational, social and economic initiatives. After His release from a lifetime of imprisonment, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá set out on a series of journeys which took Him to Egypt, Europe and North America. Throughout His life, He presented with brilliant simplicity, to high and low alike, Bahá’u’lláh’s prescription for the spiritual and social renewal of society.


Whosoever has consorted with Him has seen in Him a man exceedingly well-informed, Whose speech is captivating, Who attracts minds and souls, Who is dedicated to belief in the oneness of mankind…

Al-Mu’ayyad newspaper, Egypt, 16 October 1910


Exploring this topic

This collection of articles explores the life and work of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, the development of the Bahá’í community during His lifetime, and His historic travels to the West. There is also a selection of His major Writings, articles and commentaries.

Note: