“人人生来是为了推动文明不断进步的。” ——巴哈欧拉

不断进步的文明

巴哈伊著作 解释道,人类已经走过婴儿期和童年期,现在将要步入集体成熟期。目前发生的各种具有革命性和深远影响的改变正是这个过渡阶段的特征,这个过渡阶段可比作人的青春期。在这一阶段,来自人类早期发展阶段的思想、态度和习惯正被遗弃,而反映其即将到来之成熟期的新型思想和行为模式正在逐渐深入人心。 阿博都-巴哈 解释道:“适用于人类早期阶段之需要者,不可能再满足本时代及全新和成熟阶段之需求。”祂继续道:“时至今日,人类应吸纳新的美质、力量、道德和能力……人类世界的青春期所享有的礼物和恩泽虽然及时且足够,但如今它们已无法满足人类成熟期的需要。

这一即将到来的 成熟期 的标志是人类的统一。 守基•阿芬第 写道,虽然“人类相继尝试并完全确立了家庭、部落、城邦和国家形式的团结,”但是,全世界的团结才是“饱受磨难的人类正奋力以求的目标”。在另一段文字中,他谈到“任何凡人之眼未曾见过或心智不曾料想过的一种世界文明的开始”。他问道:“谁能想象这种文明注定会展露出的崇高标准?谁能测度从束缚下解放出来的人类智慧将要飞升到的高度?谁能设想人类精神在巴哈欧拉所倾释的极度荣辉的激发下,将要发现的那些领域?

一个精神与物质同步繁荣的文明的出现,意味着生活的灵性和现实层面要协同并进。通过信仰和理性,人类得以发现个人以及整个人类蕴藏的力量和能力,并为这些潜能的实现而努力。接受科学与宗教的基本和谐也有助于灵性和物质知识在全球民众中的生成、应用和传播。


“唯有且直到牢固地建立团结,人类才有望享得福祉、和平与安全。”

—— 巴哈欧拉

注释:

“All men have been created to carry forward an ever-advancing civilization.” –Bahá’u’lláh

An Ever-Advancing Civilization

Humanity, the Bahá’í writings explain, has passed through the stage of childhood and now stands at the threshold of its collective maturity. The revolutionary and far-reaching changes occurring today are characteristic of this period of transition—a time which can be likened to adolescence. In this period, thoughts, attitudes, and habits from humanity’s earlier stages of development are being swept away and new patterns of thought and action which reflect its approaching maturity are gradually taking root. ‘Abdu’l-Bahá explains: “That which was applicable to human needs during the early history of the race can neither meet nor satisfy the demands of this day, this period of newness and consummation.” He continues: “Man must now become imbued with new virtues and powers, new moral standards, new capacities…The gifts and blessings of the period of youth, although timely and sufficient during the adolescence of mankind, are now incapable of meeting the requirements of its maturity.

The hallmark of this approaching age of maturity is the unification of the human race. Shoghi Effendi writes that, while unity “of family, of tribe, of city-state, and nation have been successively attempted and fully established” world-encompassing unity is “the goal towards which a harassed humanity is striving.” In another passage, he refers to “the inauguration of a world civilization such as no mortal eye hath ever beheld or human mind conceived.” He asks: “Who is it that can imagine the lofty standard which such a civilization, as it unfolds itself, is destined to attain? Who can measure the heights to which human intelligence, liberated from its shackles, will soar? Who can visualize the realms which the human spirit, vitalized by the outpouring light of Bahá’u’lláh, shining in the plenitude of its glory, will discover?

The emergence of a global civilization prosperous in both its material and spiritual dimensions implies that the spiritual and practical aspects of life are to advance together. Through faith and reason, it becomes possible to discover the powers and capacities latent in individuals and in humanity as a whole, and to work for the realization of these potentialities. Recognition of the fundamental harmony of science and religion also allows for the generation, application, and diffusion of spiritual and material knowledge among all the world’s inhabitants.

“The well-being of mankind, its peace and security, are unattainable unless and until its unity is firmly established.”

— Bahá’u’lláh

Exploring this topic

This collection of pages further explores aspects of the advancement of civilization.