Carte illustrant la croissance mondiale de la foi bahá’íe de la main de Shoghi Effendi en 1952.

Shoghi Effendi — Le Gardien de la foi bahá’íe

Afin de garantir que sa révélation atteindrait son but de créer un monde uni et également de sauvegarder l’unité de la communauté bahá’íe, Bahá’u’lláh a désigné son fils aîné, ‘Abdu'l-Bahá, comme étant le centre de son Alliance et il a ordonné la création de la Maison universelle de justice. À son tour, 'Abdu’l-Bahá a établi les principes qui devaient gouverner la Maison universelle de justice et a déclaré qu’après son décès, les bahá’ís devraient se tourner vers son petits-fils aîné, Shoghi Effendi, qu’il nomma Gardien de la foi bahá’íe.

'Abdu’l-Bahá (à gauche) avec l’ainé de ses petits-fils Shoghi Effendi.

La tâche commune de la Maison universelle de justice et du Gardien consiste à appliquer les principes, à promouvoir les lois, à protéger les institutions et à adapter la foi bahá’íe aux exigences d’une société en constante évolution.

Pendant 36 ans, avec une vision, une sagesse et un dévouement extraordinaires, Shoghi Effendi a favorisé d’une manière systématique le développement, a approfondi la compréhension et a renforcé l’unité de la communauté bahá’íe, qui croissait et reflétait toujours plus la diversité de l’humanité tout entière.

Sous la direction de Shoghi Effendi, le système unique élaboré par Bahá’u’lláh pour administrer les affaires de la communauté a évolué rapidement dans le monde entier. Il a traduit les Écrits bahá’ís en anglais, a développé le centre administratif et spirituel de la Foi en Terre sainte et, dans les milliers de lettres qu’il a écrites, il a offert une compréhension approfondie de la dimension spirituelle de la civilisation et de la dynamique du changement social, dévoilant une vision grandiose de l'avenir vers lequel avance l’humanité.


Nous sommes tous stupéfaits devant l’étendue considérable de ses accomplissements et de ses capacités pour guider les hommes, une capacité qui suscita, chez une poignée de personnes ordinaires, des pouvoirs et des capacités dont ils ignoraient qu’ils étaient dotés…

— David Hofman, auteur et personnalité de la radio

:

Map illustrating worldwide growth of the Bahá’í Faith as drawn by Shoghi Effendi in 1952.

Shoghi Effendi — The Guardian of the Bahá’í Faith

In order to guarantee that His Revelation would achieve its purpose of creating a united world—and to safeguard the unity of the Bahá’í community—Bahá’u’lláh appointed His eldest Son, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, as the Centre of His Covenant and ordained the establishment of the Universal House of Justice. In turn, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá established principles for the operation of the Universal House of Justice and stated that after His passing, the Bahá’ís must turn to His eldest grandson, Shoghi Effendi, whom He named Guardian of the Bahá’í Faith.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá (left) with His eldest grandson, Shoghi Effendi.

Both the Universal House of Justice and the Guardian were tasked with applying the principles, promulgating the laws, protecting the institutions, and adapting the Bahá’í Faith to the requirements of an ever-advancing society.

For 36 years, with extraordinary foresight, wisdom and devotion, Shoghi Effendi systematically nurtured the development, deepened the understanding, and strengthened the unity of the Bahá’í community, as it increasingly grew to reflect the diversity of the entire human race.

Under Shoghi Effendi’s direction, the unique system designed by Bahá’u’lláh for administering the affairs of the community evolved rapidly throughout the world. He translated the Bahá’í Scriptures into English, developed the Faith’s spiritual and administrative centre in the Holy Land, and, in the thousands of letters he penned, offered profound insights into the spiritual dimension of civilization and the dynamics of social change, unveiling an awe-inspiring vision of the future towards which humanity is moving.

All stand amazed at the vast range of his achievements and the character of his leadership, a leadership which evoked in a handful of ordinary people powers and capacities which they did not know they possessed…

—David Hofman, author and broadcaster

Exploring this topic

This collection of pages explores the life of Shoghi Effendi and his work as Guardian of the Bahá’í Faith, guiding the followers of Bahá’u’lláh in their efforts to expand and consolidate the Bahá’í community. The articles and resources section includes historical background and examples of his prodigious literary skill.