坐落在以色列海法市卡尔迈勒山的巴孛陵殿,对巴哈伊来说,这里是世界上最神圣的圣地之一。

巴孛——巴哈伊信仰的先驱

在19世纪中叶,那个世界历史上最动荡的时期之一,一名年轻商人宣告祂为人类带来了一个新的天启,一个注定会将人类生活重塑一新的天启。在世风日下的祖国伊朗,祂的天启唤起各阶层的振奋之情与憧憬之心,很快吸引了成千上万的追随者。祂自称“巴孛”(The Báb),这个词在阿拉伯语中意为“门”。

巴孛提出了具有革命性的灵性复兴之良方,祂呼吁灵性和道德革新,注重提升妇女和穷人的地位。同时,祂还建立了一个独特且独立的宗教,鼓励信徒们改变他们的生活,作出伟大的英雄行为。

巴孛宣告,人类已经到达一个新时代的门槛前。祂的使命是为一位 上帝的显示者 开路,并将开启所有世界宗教应许的和平与正义之时代。祂就是巴哈欧拉。巴孛的使命仅持续了六年时间。


祂的一生体现出最杰出的勇气,人类有幸能见证这点……”

—— 19世纪法国作家A.L.M.尼古拉斯对巴孛的赞词

注释:

The Shrine of the Báb on Mount Carmel in Haifa, Israel — one of the holiest places in the world for Bahá’ís.

The Báb – Herald of the Bahá’í Faith

In the middle of the 19th century—one of the most turbulent periods in the world’s history—a young merchant announced that He was the bearer of a message destined to transform the life of humanity. At a time when His country, Iran, was undergoing widespread moral breakdown, His message aroused excitement and hope among all classes, rapidly attracting thousands of followers. He took the name “The Báb”, meaning “the Gate” in Arabic.

With His call for spiritual and moral reformation, and His attention to improving the position of women and the lot of the poor, the Báb’s prescription for spiritual renewal was revolutionary. At the same time, He founded a distinct, independent religion of His own, inspiring His followers to transform their lives and carry out great acts of heroism.

The Báb announced that humanity stood at the threshold of a new era. His mission, which was to last only six years, was to prepare the way for the coming of a Manifestation of God Who would usher in the age of peace and justice promised in all the world’s religions: Bahá’u’lláh.

“His life is one of the most magnificent examples of courage which it has been the privilege of mankind to behold…”

—Tribute to the Báb by the 19th century French writer A.L.M. Nicolas

Exploring this topic

This collection of pages explores the life and message of the Báb, the historical circumstances of His mission, the spread of His teachings and His major Writings.