«Каковы же требования? Любовь к человечеству, искреннее отношение ко всем, отражение единства человечества, человеколюбие, воспламенение любовью к Богу, обретение знания Божьего и того, что способствует благополучию людей».

— Абдул-Баха

Ключевая концепция учения Бахаи заключается в том, что совершенствование нашего характера и служение человечеству — это неразделимые стороны жизни. В письме, написанном от его имени, Шоги Эффенди утверждает:

Мы не можем отделять человеческое сердце от окружающего мира и говорить, что, как только одно из них улучшится, всё будет улучшено. Человек органично связан с миром, его внутренняя жизнь формирует окружающую среду и также сама глубоко подвержена ее влиянию. Одно действует на другое, и каждое постоянное изменение в жизни человека — результат этого глубокого взаимодействия.

Именно в таком свете бахаи стали воспринимать действие двуединой цели, имеющей основополагающее значение для их жизни: уделять внимание своему собственному духовному и интеллектуальному росту и вносить вклад в преобразование общества.

Эта двуединая цель помогает обуславливать начинания бахаи во всех сферах жизни. Так, например, предполагается, что они не только ежедневно молятся и размышляют в рамках своей личной жизни, но и прилагают усилия, чтобы зажечь в своем окружении дух поклонения; они должны не только углублять свое собственное знание Веры, но и делиться с другими учением Бахауллы ; им предписывается не только учиться противостоять наущениям эгоизма в своей жизни, но и стремиться мужественно и смиренно изменять тенденции культуры, которая возвеличивает желание удовлетворять личные прихоти и подрывает основы солидарности.

:

“What are the requirements? Love for mankind, sincerity toward all, reflecting the oneness of the world of humanity, philanthropy, becoming enkindled with the fire of the love of God, attainment to the knowledge of God and that which is conducive to human welfare.”


A pivotal concept in the Bahá’í teachings is that the refinement of one’s inner character and service to humanity are inseparable facets of life. Shoghi Effendi, in a letter written on his behalf, states:

We cannot segregate the human heart from the environment outside us and say that once one of these is reformed everything will be improved. Man is organic with the world. His inner life moulds the environment and is itself also deeply affected by it. The one acts upon the other and every abiding change in the life of man is the result of these mutual reactions.

In light of this, Bahá’ís have come to appreciate the operation of a two-fold purpose that is fundamental to their lives: to attend to their own spiritual and intellectual growth and to contribute to the transformation of society.

This two-fold purpose helps to shape the endeavours of Bahá’ís in all areas. Thus, for example, they are not only expected to pray and reflect daily in their personal lives, but also to make efforts to infuse their surroundings with a devotional spirit; they are asked, not only to deepen their own knowledge of the Faith, but also to share with others Bahá’u’lláh’s teachings; they are not only admonished to learn to resist the dictates of the ego in their own lives, but also to strive, with courage and humility, to reverse the tendencies of a culture that glorifies self-gratification and erodes the foundations of solidarity.