“对你们的要求是什么?以诚相待,弘扬人类世界大同的理念,力行善举,让自己被爱上帝之火点燃,获得对上帝以及凡有益于人类福祉之事的认知。”

—— 阿博都-巴哈

巴哈伊教义的一个核心概念是,人的内在品格的提升与 服务人类 是生活中不可分割的两个方面。守基•阿芬第在一封授写函中写道:

我们无法将人的心灵与外部环境截然分开,不能说其中某个变革了,其他所有的事物也会改善。人与世界是有机联系着的。他的内在生命塑造了环境,而其本身亦深受环境的影响。二者彼此作用,相辅相成,人类生活的每个持久转变都是这些相互作用的结果。

因此,巴哈伊逐渐认识到有一种双重目的是他们的生活之本:一方面是关注自身的灵性和心智成长,另一方面是推动社会的转变

这一双重目的决定了巴哈伊在各个领域的行动。例如,他们不仅需要在个人生活中每日 祈祷和反思 ,也需要努力在周围环境中营造一种虔敬的氛围;他们不仅需要深化自己对于信仰的认知,也需要与 他人分享巴哈欧拉的教义 ;他们不仅需要学习抵御生活中自我的侵袭,也需要勇敢而谦卑地努力扭转时下那种吹捧自我满足、侵蚀团结之基础的文化取向。

注释:

“What are the requirements? Love for mankind, sincerity toward all, reflecting the oneness of the world of humanity, philanthropy, becoming enkindled with the fire of the love of God, attainment to the knowledge of God and that which is conducive to human welfare.”


A pivotal concept in the Bahá’í teachings is that the refinement of one’s inner character and service to humanity are inseparable facets of life. Shoghi Effendi, in a letter written on his behalf, states:

We cannot segregate the human heart from the environment outside us and say that once one of these is reformed everything will be improved. Man is organic with the world. His inner life moulds the environment and is itself also deeply affected by it. The one acts upon the other and every abiding change in the life of man is the result of these mutual reactions.

In light of this, Bahá’ís have come to appreciate the operation of a two-fold purpose that is fundamental to their lives: to attend to their own spiritual and intellectual growth and to contribute to the transformation of society.

This two-fold purpose helps to shape the endeavours of Bahá’ís in all areas. Thus, for example, they are not only expected to pray and reflect daily in their personal lives, but also to make efforts to infuse their surroundings with a devotional spirit; they are asked, not only to deepen their own knowledge of the Faith, but also to share with others Bahá’u’lláh’s teachings; they are not only admonished to learn to resist the dictates of the ego in their own lives, but also to strive, with courage and humility, to reverse the tendencies of a culture that glorifies self-gratification and erodes the foundations of solidarity.