“你们每个人便能如发光之蜡烛般成为任何人群的凝聚中心,你们便会像花圃般发散沁人芳香。”——阿博都-巴哈

一种慷慨给予的生活

正如蜡烛的目的是发光,人的灵魂被创造的目的是慷慨奉献。我们在一种服务的生活中实现我们的最高目的,在此过程中奉献我们的时间、精力、知识和资财。

奉献的动力来自对上帝的爱。当我们的内心充满这种爱时,慷慨就成为我们行为模式的特征;当我们因为对上帝的爱而去服务他人时,我们的动机既不是渴望赞赏和回报,也不是惧怕惩罚。一种服务于人类的生活意味着谦卑和超脱,而非利己和炫耀。

守基•阿芬第写道:“我们必须做到像喷泉那般:不断地倾其所有,又不断地被无形源泉注满。不畏贫穷,为同胞的福祉持续倾尽所有,然后仰赖一切财富及利益之源的无穷恩赐——此乃人生正道之奥妙所在。


给予和慷慨是我的真性,以我的美德装饰自己的人,当蒙赐福!”

—— 巴哈欧拉

注释:

“Thus may each one of you be even as a candle casting its light, the center of attraction wherever people come together; and from you, as from a bed of flowers, may sweet scents be shed.” –‘Abdu’l-Bahá

A Life of Generous Giving 

Just as a candle’s purpose is to provide light, the human soul was created to give generously. We fulfil our highest purpose in a life of service, in which we offer our time, energy, knowledge, and financial resources.

The impulse to give springs forth from the love of God. As this love fills our hearts, generosity comes to characterize the pattern of our conduct; when we serve others for the love of God, we are neither motivated by the hope of recognition and reward nor by fear of punishment. A life of service to humanity implies humility and detachment, not self-interest and ostentation.

Shoghi Effendi has written: “We must be like the fountain or spring that is continually emptying itself of all that it has and is continually being refilled from an invisible source. To be continually giving out for the good of our fellows undeterred by fear of poverty and reliant on the unfailing bounty of the Source of all wealth and all good–this is the secret of right living.”


“To give and to be generous are attributes of Mine; well is it with him that adorneth himself with My virtues.”

—  Bahá’u’lláh


Exploring this topic

This collection of pages examines the Bahá’í teachings on a life of generous giving. The articles and resources section includes materials offering a more in-depth exploration of the subject.

Note: