“唯有且直到牢固地建立团结,人类才有望享得福祉、和平与安全。”——巴哈欧拉

世界和平

巴哈欧拉的教义博大精深,探讨的主题多种多样,例如天启的本质和目的、人与生俱来的高贵性、灵性品质的培养以及人与自然界的相互作用。 巴哈伊圣作 中大量阐释了“全人类的最高目标”世界和平,以及与之相关的社会原则。

这些原则包括:独立探求真理;巴哈伊信仰的核心原则“人类一体”;消除各种偏见;宗教与科学相协调;两性平等(男女两性犹如飞鸟的两翼);义务教育;采用世界通用辅助语;消除贫富悬殊;由世界法庭裁决国家间的纷争;肯定正义是处理人类事务的主导原则。在巴哈伊看来,这些原则不是虚幻的梦想,而是与 个人 、 社区 和 机构 直接相关的实际事务。


1985年10月,世界正义院就世界和平发表致全人类的公开信,信的题目为《世界和平的承诺》。信中解释了巴哈伊社团为何对于世界和平——人类社会演进的下一阶段——的到来充满信心,信中明确写道:

大和平为世世代代的善良百姓所向往,为从古至今的圣贤和诗人所预言,为各个时代的经书圣典所许诺,如今,终于有望为各国人民实现了!有史以来第一次,人类所有的人能够从同一个客观角度观看到地球及居住其上的各式各样的人群。世界和平不仅是可能的,更是不可避免的。它是这个星球演进的下一个阶段,用一位伟大思想家的话来说,就是“人类的全球化”。


主题探索

本处分几部分全文登载《世界和平的承诺》

注释:

“The well-being of mankind, its peace and security, are unattainable unless and until its unity is firmly established.” —Bahá’u’lláh

Universal Peace

The teachings of Baha’u’llah are vast in their scope, exploring as they do such themes as the nature and purpose of Revelation, the inherent nobility of the human being, the cultivation of spiritual qualities, and humanity’s interactions with the natural world. The Bahá’í Writings are also replete with references to universal peace—“the supreme goal of all mankind”—as well as explanations of the social principles with which this peace is associated.

Among these principles are the independent search after truth; the oneness of the entire human race, which is the pivotal principle of the Bahá’í Faith; the abolition of all forms of prejudice; the harmony which must exist between religion and science; the equality of men and women, the two wings on which the bird of humankind is able to soar; the introduction of compulsory education; the adoption of a universal auxiliary language; the abolition of the extremes of wealth and poverty; the institution of a world tribunal for the adjudication of disputes between nations; and the confirmation of justice as the ruling principle in human affairs. Bahá’ís do not view these principles as mere statements of vague aspiration—they are understood as matters of immediate and practical concern for individuals, communities, and institutions alike.


In October 1985, the Universal House of Justice announced the publication of a letter addressed to the generality of humankind on the subject of universal peace, titled “The Promise of World Peace”. Explaining the reasons underlying the Bahá’í community’s confidence in the advent of international peace as the next stage in the evolution of society, it stated plainly:

The Great Peace towards which people of goodwill throughout the centuries have inclined their hearts, of which seers and poets for countless generations have expressed their vision, and for which from age to age the sacred scriptures of mankind have constantly held the promise, is now at long last within the reach of the nations. For the first time in history it is possible for everyone to view the entire planet, with all its myriad diversified peoples, in one perspective. World peace is not only possible but inevitable.


Exploring this topic

This section of the website presents the entire text from the statement, The Promise of World Peace, divided into a number of sections. It also includes a selection of relevant quotations from the Bahá’í writings, focused particularly on the social teachings of the Bahá’í Faith, such as the equality of women and men, universal education, and the elimination of extremes of wealth and poverty, as well as a number of related statements, essays, and other resources.

Note: