“虽然你们的心性受到纷繁各异的环境的影响,但是你们都渴望促成建设性的改变,渴望获得开展有意义服务的能力,这是你们当前人生阶段的特征。这种渴望既不限于种族或国家,也不取决于物质条件。你们享有的这段美好青年时光是所有人都经历过的——但它很短暂,并受到众多社会力量的冲击。因此,你们须不懈努力,像阿博都-巴哈所说的那样,‘摘取生命的果实’。”

—— 世界正义院

青年在巴哈伊历史上扮演了重要的角色。巴孛在25岁时宣告了祂的使命,祂的许多追随者在接受祂的天启时也都处在青年期。在巴哈欧拉阿博都-巴哈担任信仰领袖期间,年轻人总是站在最前线,宣扬新生信仰的讯息,与他人分享其教义。

在这些信仰先驱和其他非凡榜样的引领下,一代又一代成千上万的年轻巴哈伊挺身而起,响应巴哈欧拉的召唤。当今巴哈伊信仰的领导者——世界正义院——为年轻信徒的行动提供了指引,鼓励他们运用青年时期特有的激情和热忱为精神和物质文明的发展作出重要贡献。

世界正义院提供的指引和鼓励如此繁多,年轻巴哈伊响应的范围如此广泛,受其启发而发起的行动如此多样,我们无法在此一一罗列。因此,关于该主题的内容都集中于一个例子:2013年在全球114个地方举行的系列青年大会以及后来举行的大量小型会议。

你将读到一份世界正义院致千千万万个年轻参与者的文告,观看题为“服务人类”的系列短片,并在巴哈伊世界新闻快讯网站的一个专题部分阅读2013年每场会议的报告。

“Although your realities are shaped by a broad diversity of circumstances, yet a desire to bring about constructive change and a capacity for meaningful service, both characteristic of your stage of life, are neither limited to any race or nationality, nor dependent upon material means. This bright period of youth you share is experienced by all—but it is brief, and buffeted by numerous social forces. How important it is, then, to strive to be among those who, in the words of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, ‘plucked the fruit of life’.”

— The Universal House of Justice

Youth have played a vital role in Bahá’í history. The Báb Himself declared His mission when He was but twenty-five years old and so many among the band of His followers were in the prime of their youth when they embraced His Revelation. During the ministries of Bahá’u’lláh and ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, young people were at the forefront of efforts to proclaim the message of the new Faith and to share its teachings with others.

Following in the path that these and other extraordinary figures had opened, thousands of young Bahá’ís have arisen in each generation to respond to the call of Bahá’u’lláh. Their efforts are guided by the Head of the Bahá’í Faith—today, the Universal House of Justice—which encourages young Bahá’ís to draw on the zeal and enthusiasm characteristic of the period of youth and so make decisive contributions to the advancement of spiritual and material civilization.

The scope of the guidance and encouragement provided by the Universal House of Justice and of the response of young Bahá’ís today is too vast, and the activities it inspires too varied, to be described in their totality here. The pages of this topic collection, then, focus on one example: a series of youth conferences in 114 locations around the world which were held in 2013 along with waves of smaller gatherings that have been taking place ever since.

You may read a message of the Universal House of Justice addressed to the tens of thousands of young participants, view a series of short films titled “To Serve Humanity”, and view reports from each of the gatherings in 2013 in a special section of the Bahá’í World News Service website.

In addition, the articles presented below, which comprise extracts from the materials studied during the conferences and the subsequent gatherings, highlight aspects of the conversation among participants as they explored together themes central to their service to humanity.